ANNOUNCEMENT |  2018 NSW Visual Arts Emerging Fellowship Finalists

Image, from left: 2018 NSW Visual Arts Emerging Fellowship finalists, (top) JD Reforma, Kieran Butler, Shireen Taweel, Marikit Santiago, Jodie Whalen, Biljana Jancic, Kai Wasikowski, (front) Georgia Saxelby, Shivanjani Lal, EO Gill


Artspace and Create NSW are pleased to announce the ten finalists for the 2018 NSW Visual Arts Emerging Fellowship: Kieran Butler, EO Gill, Biljana Jancic, Shivanjani Lal, JD Reforma, Marikit Santiago, Georgia Saxelby, Shireen Taweel, Kai Wasikowski and Jodie Whalen.


Valued at $30,000, this Fellowship is offered by the NSW Government through Create NSW to enable a visual artist at the beginning of their career to undertake a self-directed program of professional development. With a 100-year history, the Fellowship is a key exhibition for profiling the dynamism and breadth of emerging contemporary artistic practice in NSW. Now in its 22nd year at Artspace, it continues to define new generations of contemporary art practice for both artists and audiences.


Each year Create NSW convenes an independent judging panel of esteemed colleagues to determine the finalists, whom Artspace acknowledges for engaging with insight and passion in assessing what was again a highly competitive round of proposals.


Minister Harwin said the Government has been proud to support visual artists for over a century and praised Artspace for its experimentation, collaboration and advocacy in developing artists of the future.


'Support for our emerging NSW artists is vital if we’re to succeed in building a thriving, diverse and world-class arts sector. Working with the experts at Artspace we’re able to shine a spotlight on some of the most exciting new talent and deliver their work to new audiences.' Mr Harwin said.


'The breadth of artistic talent in NSW never ceases to amaze me and I know we’re in for yet another hugely popular exhibition in November. I am delighted to continue the State’s support for the Fellowship.'


Artspace Executive Director Alexie Glass-Kantor said:

‘The NSW Visual Arts Emerging Fellowship is one of the most exciting annual exhibitions in New South Wales: celebrating the diversity in approaches to artistic practice from some of the states most talented young artists. Together with Create NSW, Artspace is committed to ensuring that the Fellowship offers invaluable professional development to artists in the emerging stages of their careers through curatorial advocacy and engagement. We congratulate each of the artists shortlisted for this year’s edition and we are proud to be the ongoing venue for this important exhibition.’


Curators Alexie Glass-Kantor, Michelle Newton and Lola Pinder will work closely with each of the artists through the development of the exhibition. Of the ten finalists, one artist will be awarded the Fellowship at the opening night of the exhibition, Thursday 15 November, 2018.