Alexie Glass-Kantor 
Executive Director

Alexie Glass-Kantor is Executive Director of Artspace, Sydney, supporting the commissioning of contemporary art, publishing initiatives, and research residencies for artists and curators. Since 1999 she has curated or co-curated over one hundred exhibitions across independent spaces, collecting institutions, biennials and festivals. She has collaborated with international artists across generations to develop projects throughout the Asia-Pacific, Europe and North America. Prior to her appointment to Artspace she was Director–Senior Curator, Gertrude Contemporary, Melbourne and worked in Curatorial at the Australian Centre for the Moving Image. Glass-Kantor is the Chair of the Contemporary Art Organisations of Australia and on the Academic Board of the National Art School. She is curator of the Encounters sector for Art Basel | Hong Kong 2015-2019.

Michelle Newton
Deputy Director | Contact

Michelle Newton is the Deputy Director of Artspace and works as a curator-producer to support the commissioning of contemporary art projects. Prior to her appointment at Artspace she was the General Manager at Grantpirrie Gallery and worked with First Nations’ artists at Jilamara Arts on the Tiwi Islands (NT) and Jirrawun Arts in the East Kimberley (WA). She previously worked in media across editorial and business development for The Sydney Morning Herald. She has commissioned and produced new works for Artspace in partnership with peer institutions internationally such as Angelica Mesiti’s Relay League for Art Sonje Center (Seoul); Helen Johnson’s Warm Ties for ICA (London); Nicholas Mangan’s Ancient Lights with Chisenhale Gallery (London); Justene Williams’ A Curtain Breathed Deeply for Performa 15 Biennial (New York); Chicks on Speed SCREAM and Volume | Another Art Book Fair with Printed Matter Inc (New York). She holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) from the University of New South Wales | Art & Design and a Graduate Certificate in Finance from Curtin University of Technology.

Talia Linz
| Contact

Talia Linz is a writer and Curator at Artspace, Sydney. In the last three years she has curated, co-curated and produced over 40 Australian and international solo and group exhibitions and projects, and co-edited the publications Angelica Mesiti: A Communion of Stranger Gestures and Helen Johnson: Warm Ties. She was previously the Nick Waterlow OAM Curatorial Fellow at the Biennale of Sydney, Executive Producer of Arts and Culture at FBi Radio 94.5FM and Assistant Editor at Art & Australia, and has recently contributed to catalogues for Primavera 2018, The National 2017: New Australian Art, Biennale of Sydney, Australian Centre for Contemporary Art, Kaldor Public Art Projects and the European
Capital of Culture Aarhus 2017.


Richard Phillips
Communications Coordinator | Contact


Richard Phillips is an artist and writer, graduating with an Honours in Photography and Situated Media from the University of Technology, Sydney. Prior to his position at Artspace, he has worked and volunteered in a variety positions across the arts in various arts organisations and institutions. Richard also has experience lecturing and tutoring into photographic history and theory subjects at the University of Technology Sydney.

Johanna Bear
Associate Curator | Contact

Johanna Bear is the Front of House and Curatorial Assistant at Artspace as well as an independent curator and writer. Prior to her appointment at Artspace, Johanna worked and volunteered at various arts organisations in Australia and New Zealand including the Arts Law Centre of Australia (Sydney), Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki (New Zealand), Artspace (Auckland, New Zealand) and Govett-Brewster Art Gallery (New Plymouth, New Zealand). She holds a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws from the University of Sydney and University of Queensland.

Lola Pinder
Development and Public Engagement Manager | Contact

Prior to this role Lola worked at the Australian Centre for Photography in Education and Public Programs as well as the Flying Arts Alliance in education programming. She has written for web and print including ACP online and The Heavy Collective. She holds a BA in Art History from the University of Melbourne and the University of Granada with honours in Art Theory from the UNSW Art & Design.

Elyse Goldfinch
Associate Curator | Contact

Elyse Goldfinch is EA and Assistant Curator at Artspace, Sydney. Recently, she co-curated Artspace’s 52 ARTISTS 52 ACTIONS exhibition and the 2019 NSW Visual Arts Emerging Fellowship. She has worked across a breadth of non-profit and independent arts organisations with a focus on advocacy, collaboration, exchange and support for artists locally, nationally and internationally. Elyse is also an independent curator and writes extensively for print and online publications including Ocula, Art + Australia, and un Magazine, alongside contributing texts to Angelica Mesiti and Mel O’Callaghan’s monographs and the National Gallery of Australia’s upcoming ‘Know My Name’ catalogue.


The Artspace Board is complemented by up to nine directors, including the Executive Director, who each play a vital role in achieving the organisation’s objectives. They bring a wide range of skills to management, fundraising and day-to-day operations. Each director is appointed for a four-year fixed-term, with the exception of two artist-appointed directors appointed for a two year-term who represent the interests of our key constituency of visual arts practitioners. In 2014 Artspace changed this policy to re-appoint both artist-appointed directors for an additional two-years. 

Current Board Members:
Andrew Cameron AM (Chair)
Kathy Bail
Daniel Boyd

Michael Baldwin
Lisa Chung
Mikala Dwyer

Alexie Glass-Kantor
Amanda Love
Peter O'Connell
Khaled Sabsabi
Leisa Sadler
Peter Wilson

Former Directors


Artspace Executive Directors 1983-2015
Judy Annear (1982–83)
Gary Sangster (1984–87)
Sally Couacaud (1988–1992)
Louise Pether (1992–94)
Nicholas Tsoutas (1994–2005)
Blair French (2006–13)
Alexie Glass-Kantor (2013–current)

Chairs of Board 1983-Current
Jim Allen
Lisa Anderson
Louise Dauth
Dian Lloyd
Michael Dolk
Jill Scott
Richard Dunn
Merilyn Fairskye
Frances Joseph
Su Baker
Brad Buckley
Nicholas Tsoutas
Nick Waterlow
Anne Zahalka
Anne Graham
Richard Perram
John Potts
Suzanne Currie
Michael Dagostino
James Emmett
Andrew Cameron AM